Closed till and including 1 August – reachable by phone and mail – have a nice holiday!

×
search

Lifeblood

search

Tomas Rabara, Placart

In the Beginning there was Le Corbusier

Gallery owner Tomas Rabara – formerly a journalist, reporter, and copywriter – was infected with the LC virus 12 years ago by his wife, who, after studying architecture, was official auxiliary to Heidi Weber at the Le Corbusier Center for two years. In 2010, the couple’s first exhibition dedicated to Le Corbusier’s work took place, «Le Corbusier  – Baumeister des Interieurs» (Le Corbusier – Master Builder of Interiors), followed by others, including an exhibition in 2013 in the Architekturforum Zürich. For this occasion, Tomas Rabara had the pleasure of winning over Mario Botta, who gave a lecture detailing the inspiring role that the extensive artistic work of the Swiss universal genius plays for him.

Tomas Rabara mainly found access to the world of posters through those which Le Corbusier himself had created for his exhibitions. The sheer motivic abundance of captivating artistic quality, the congenial combination of text and image, as well as the influential binding together of the respective situation and zeitgeist (whether in art, fashion, politics or industry) turn posters into grandiose images and outstanding sources that bring the past directly before the viewer’s eye, thereby strengthening awareness of the present. Few posters make history – and yet – there are those that make it accessible in a way second to none.

Meanwhile, author of the catalog «Bauen auf Kunst – Le Corbusiers Druckgraphiken aus fünf Jahrzehnten» (2013), (Building on Art – Five Decades of Le Corbusier’s Prints), and member of the International Vintage Poster Dealers Association, Tomas Rabara graduated from the Bern University of the Arts with a CAS. His areas of expertise includes specialization, especially in printing techniques, the recognition of reproductions, falsifications, and also provenance research. He is a connoisseur of Le Corbusier’s work and the area of Original Vintage Posters. Tomas Rabara’s clients include collectors and enthusiasts, as well as businesses and public institutions. He guarantees the authenticity of all works offered at Placart and takes great pleasure in sharing his expertise and advising clients in purchasing works.

Le Corbusier, Placart as well (LC 1938 in Zürich; source: Photopress, Zürich)

Herzblut

Tomas Rabara, Placart

Am Anfang war Le Corbusier

Galerist Tomas Rabara – ursprünglich Journalist, Reporter und Texter – liess sich vor zwölf Jahren von seiner Frau mit dem LC-Virus anstecken, die nach ihrem Architekturstudium zwei Jahre Heidi Webers Fachassistentin im Centre Le Corbusier war. 2010 fand die erste seinem Schaffen gewidmete Ausstellung des Ehepaars statt, «Le Cor­bu­sier – Bau­meis­ter des Inte­ri­eurs», der weitere folgten – unter anderem 2013 im Architekturforum Zürich, anlässlich welcher Tomas Rabara Mario Botta für einen Vortrag darüber gewann, wie inspirierend das immense künstlerische Werk des Schweizer Universalgenies für ihn ist.

Über LCs für die eigenen Ausstellungen geschaffenen Künstlerplakate fand Tomas Rabara bald den Zugang zur Welt der Plakate an sich; die schiere Fülle der Motive von bestechender künstlerischer Qualität, die kongeniale Verbindung von Text und Bild sowie das treffende Bannen des jeweiligen Stands und Zeitgeists – ob nun in Kunst, Mode, Politik oder Industrie – machen Plakate zu grandiosen Bildern und famosen Quellen, die einem jeden Betrachter Vergangenes unmittelbar vor Augen führen und damit das Bewusstsein für die Gegenwart stärken. Es gibt wenige Plakate, die Geschichte machten – aber unzählige, die sie auf eine derart zugängliche Weise zeigen, dass sie ihresgleichen sucht.

Mittlerweile Autor des Katalogs «Bauen auf Kunst – Le Cor­bu­siers Druckgraphiken aus fünf Jahrzehnten» (2013) sowie Mitglied der International Vintage Poster Dealers Association hat Tomas Rabara an der Hochschule der Künste Bern einen CAS absolviert, der sich insbesondere den Drucktechniken, dem Erkennen von Reproduktionen resp. Fälschungen sowie der Provenienzforschung an sich widmete. Er ist ein profunder Kenner von Le Corbusiers Werk wie auch des Bereichs der Originalen Plakate; zu seinen Kunden zählen Liebhaber und veritable Sammler, Firmen und öffentliche Institutionen. Er garantiert die Authentizität sämtlicher bei Placart angebotenen Arbeiten und freut sich, Ihnen seine Spezialgebiete näher bringen und Sie beim Erwerb eines Werks beraten zu können.

Le Corbusier, auch Placart (LC 1938 in Zürich; Quelle: Photopress, Zürich)